Scott Lobdell, Mayor Dr. Joshua Mertz, Councilman Dr. Joseph Bangura, Councilman Matthew Chapman, Councilman Marcus Suhr, Councilman



Antonina Tantillo, Town Manager Jennifer Helms, Financial Officer Mariaelena Rivera, Town Clerk Kelsey Gallagher, Admin. Assistant Edwin Van-Otoo, Town Engineer Lisa Hatfield Town Attorney

2023 Town of Townsend Town Council Reorganization

On Wednesday, June 7, 2023, the Town of Townsend held its annual reorganization meeting. At this meeting, four candidates for Town Council were sworn in and seated in accordance with the Town Ordinance. Per the certification of the 2023 Town of Townsend Election by the Town of Townsend Board of Election, three candidates filed for the three two-year terms and one candidate filed for the one one-year term of the open Council seats. The three available Council seats for a two-year term have been filled by Dr. Joseph Bangura, Mr. Matthew Chapman, and Mr. Marcus Suhr; their term will expire in June 2025. The one available Council seat for a one-year term has been filled by Dr. Joshua Mertz; the term will expire in June 2024.

After the four Councilman were seated, the Council elected Mayor Scott Lobdell to another term as Mayor of the Town of Townsend. Mayor Lobdell will serve a one-year term as Mayor.

Mayor Lobdell's first duty after taking the chair was to announce appointment of the Finance Committee and the following Council members were appointed:

Finance Committee: Councilman Mertz Mayor Lobdell

Over the next few weeks, Council members will work with Mayor Lobdell to discuss establishment of the remaining Committees, in addition to establishing the Towns priorities and annual objectives.